Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Due to a combination of the coronavirus pandemic and CST’s impending relocation, the CST Library recommends that all students, faculty and staff use the Digital Theological Library (DTL) as their primary library ( www. and digitaltheologicallibrary.org libguides.thedtl.org/subjectguides) until library traditional services are resumed at Willamette University in the fall.
The DTL’s collections are far more comprehensive than CST’s legacy print collections and should provide for most of your information needs. CST patrons can access the Digital Theological Library using their CST library barcode.
If you need help accessing the DTL, you may contact the CST reference department: firstname.lastname@example.org
Stay safe, stay healthy, stay at home.
Islamic Studies: Recommended Introductory Resources
Publication Date: 1992-04-01
No God but God by
Call Number: BP161.3 .A79 2005
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
Call Number: BP161.3 .A96 2004
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Call Number: BP161.2 .E85 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-15
Call Number: BP161.2 .R29 1979
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Vision of Islam by
Call Number: BP161.2 .M78 1994
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Islamic Studies: eBooks
Publication Date: 2002-08-06
Islamic Studies: Subject Headings for Further Research
Public Scholarship on Islam
American Journal of Islamic Social Sciencesf
AJISS, established in 1984, is a quarterly, double blind peer-reviewed and interdisciplinary journal, published by the International Institute of Islamic Thought (IIIT), and distributed worldwide. The journal showcases a wide variety of scholarly research on all facets of Islam and the Muslim world including subjects such as anthropology, history, philosophy and metaphysics, politics, psychology, religious law, and traditional Islam.
The Arab Studies Journal
Arab Studies Journal is a peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary research publication in the field of Arab and Middle East Studies. Submissions are evaluated on their scholarly probity not on their theses.
British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
The British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies is a refereed academic journal published for the British Society for Middle Eastern Studies (popularly known as BRISMES). The editors aim to maintain a balance in the Journal's coverage between the modern social sciences and the more traditional disciplines associated with Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies.
Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life
Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life focuses on topical issues and takes an interdisciplinary approach that benefits from a cross-cultural perspective: articles will explore the relationship between Islam and its contemporary cultural, material, gender, economic, political, and religious expressions from different socio-scientific perspectives, such as anthropology, sociology, education, politics, international relations, ethnomusicology, arts, film studies, economics, human rights, international law, diaspora minority studies, demography, and ethics.
" Der Islam provides a forum for the study of the history and culture of the Middle East before the age of modernisation in the 19th century, from the Iberian Peninsula to Central Asia. Articles present the latest research in the humanities and social sciences based on literary traditions, and archival, material, as well as archaeological evidence." DTL coverage: 2004 (Vol. 81, no. 1) - 2013 (Vol. 90, no. 1)
Die Welt des Islam
" Die Welt des Islams focuses on the history and culture of the people of Islam from the end of the eighteenth century until present times. Special attention is given to literature from this period. Over the last 40 years, Die Welt des Islams has established itself as a journal unrivalled by any other in its field. Its presence in both the major research libraries of the world and in the private libraries of professors, scholars and students shows this journal to be an easy way of staying on top of your discipline. Boasting a large international circulation, Die Welt des Islams takes care to supply its readers with articles in English, French and German. Detailed notes add to already highly descriptive articles. Extensive reviews of relevant books are written by specialists, giving a broader look into the field of Islam." The DTL coverage: 1913-2012 (Bd. 1, Issue 1 - Vol. 52, Issue 3/4) with a 5 year moving wall.
International Journal of Islamic Thought
"The INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ISLAMIC THOUGHT (IJIT) is an internationally refereed online journal) and printed journal jointly published by the International Society of Muslim Philosophers and Theologians (ISOMPT) and the Department of Theology and Philosophy, National University of Malaysia. The mission of IJIT is to encourage scholarly research in Islamic thought. The Journal provides a unique peer-reviewed forum to postgraduate students, scholars, professors, and researchers in various topics within Islamic thought."
International Journal of Middle East Studies
"The International Journal of Middle East Studies publishes original research on politics, society and culture in the Middle East from the seventh century to the present day. The journal also covers Spain, south-east Europe, and parts of Africa, South Asia, and the former Soviet Union for subjects of relevance to Middle Eastern civilization. Particular attention is paid to the history, politics, economics, anthropology, sociology, literature, and cultural studies of the area and to comparative religion, theology, law, and philosophy." DTL coverage: 1970-2012 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 44, No. 4). For issues from 2012-2016 click
International Studies Quarterly
International Studies Quarterly (ISQ) is the flagship journal of the International Studies Association. It seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies
"Publishes research articles, notes, comments, review-articles and book-reviews in all disciplines of Islamic Studies including the Qur’an, Hadith, Tafsir, Sirah, ‘Ilm al-Kalam, Jurisprudence, Fiqh, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Psychology, Anthropology, Sociology, Culture, Civilization, Economics, Language, Literature, History, Science and Technology. Its contributors include some of the very best scholars from across the world." DTL coverage: 1962-2013 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 52, No. 3/4) with a 2 year moving wall.
Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies
"The Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies (JAIS) is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, academic journal. It is also the world's most widely read journal in the field of Arabic, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies. The main aim of the journal is to promote the study of history, language, literature and culture through the publication of research articles."
Journal of Islamic Ethics
The focus of Journal of Islamic Ethics is on the ethical approaches embedded in Islamic philosophy, theology, mysticism and jurisprudence as well as Islamic civilization in general, and, more particularly, on the principles and methods (to be) followed in applying these approaches to various sectors of contemporary social life. These fields include: Arts, Environment, Economics, Education, Gender, Media, Medicine, Migration & Human Rights, Politics and Psychology. The Journal will strongly focus on thematic issues on current events as well as on individual empirical case studies.
Journal of Islamic Studies
"The Journal of Islamic Studies is a multi-disciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world. Particular attention is paid to works dealing with history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, as well as ethical questions related to scientific research. The Journal seeks to place Islam and the Islamic tradition as its central focus of academic inquiry and to encourage comprehensive consideration of its many facets; to provide a forum for the study of Islam and Muslim societies in their global context; to encourage interdisciplinary studies of the Islamic world that are crossnational and comparative; to promote the diffusion, exchange and discussion of research findings; and to encourage interaction among academics from various traditions of learning." - OUP
Journal of Qur'anic Studies
"The Journal of Qur'anic Studies ... aims to encourage and promote the study of the Qur’an from a wide range of scholarly perspectives, reflecting the diversity of approaches characteristic of this field of scholarship. In addition, JQS publishes articles both in English and Arabic, to encourage the bridging of the gap between the two traditions of Muslim and Western scholarship." For articles before 2005 click
Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient
The Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient contains studies furthering our knowledge of the economic and social history of the Ancient Near East, the World of Islam, and South, Southeast, and East Asia by economic and social historians, historians of law and administration, philologists, ethnographers, anthropologists, archaeologists, theoretical sociologists, and other social scientists.
The Middle Eastern Quarterly
"Since its founding in 1994, the Middle East Quarterly has become America's most authoritative journal of Middle Eastern affairs. Policymakers, opinion-makers, academics, and journalists turn first to the Quarterly, for in-depth analysis of the rapidly-changing landscape of the world's most volatile region. The Quarterly publishes groundbreaking studies, exclusive interviews, insightful commentary, and hard-hitting reviews that tackle the entire range of contemporary concerns — from politics to economics to culture, across a region that stretches from Morocco to Afghanistan."
The Muslim World Journal
The Muslim World, founded in 1911, is dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of scholarly research on Islam and Muslim societies and on historical and current aspects of Muslim-Christian relations.
Oriens contains studies in the culture of Asia and North Africa from antiquity to the present, focusing on language, religion and art.
"Studia Islamica is one of the oldest academic journals published in the field of Islamic studies. Published in Paris since 1953, it has been co-edited by A. L. Udovitch and Houari Touati since 2003. Focusing on the Islamic lands around the Mediterranean Sea and in south-west Asia, it publishes articles (in English and French) in the fields of history, religion, law, literature and language, for both the pre-modern and modern periods." The DTL coverage: 1953-2014 (No. 1 - Vol. 109, No. 2) with a 3 year moving wall.
Yearbook of Islamic and Middle Eastern Law
Practitioners and academics dealing with the Middle East can turn to the Yearbook of Islamic and Middle Eastern Law Online for an instant source of information on the developments over an entire year in the region. The Yearbook covers Islamic and non-Islamic legal subjects, including the laws themselves, of some twenty Arab and other Islamic countries.
Guide Authorship and Copyright Permission