Skip to main content



Citations and Citation Management: Home

Guides to help you cite sources for research papers

Welcome & Additional Assistance

This LibGuide was designed to provide you with assistance in citing your sources when writing a paper or dissertation.

If you need assistance beyond what this guide offers, feel free to get in touch with our Writing and Speech Center director, Stephanie Rice, at 909-447-2539, or email her at writingcenter@cst.edu. You can also make a Writing and Speech Center appointment online. The Writing and Speech Center website also provides helpful guidance and access to resources.

Chicago Style

The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.) is CST's default/standard style manual, and specifically, the Notes/Bibliography format of the Chicago Manual of Style, NOT the Author/Date format.

CST faculty, staff, and students can access CST's subscription to the online Chicago Manual of Style through our A-Z Database List, or find the manual in the catalog through the link below. For a short summation of basic documentation formats, see the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide. The Turabian manual is an abridged guide to the Chicago Manual of Style intended especially for students.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides excellent guidance, including a general introduction, a broad overview of the format, a sample essay, as well as numerous formatting examples for books, periodicals, and web sources.

The CST Writing and Speech Center provides a guide to Chicago documentation that covers the most common types of citations students use in their papers. 

APA Style

With approval from a professor, CST students may opt to use the APA (American Psychological Association) style guide, especially for essays and dissertations that deal heavily with the social sciences.

CST faculty, staff, and students can consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, available in the CST Library. 

The Purdue OWL provides excellent guidance, including a general introduction, a broad overview of the format, a sample essayin-text citation basics, as well as numerous formatting examples for books, periodicals, and web sources.

MLA Style

With approval from a professor, CST students may opt to use the MLA (Modern Language Association) style guide.

The Purdue OWL provides excellent guidance, including a general introduction, a broad overview of the format, a sample essay, in-text citation basics, as well as numerous formatting examples for booksperiodicals, and web sources.

Additional Guidance

Review Purdue OWL's Citation Style Chart for side-by-side comparison of Chicago, MLA, and APA Styles.

Students researching and writing in Biblical Studies are encouraged to use the SBL Handbook of Style (available through CST digitally and in hard copy; see the link below), especially for citations of biblical, ancient Near Eastern, classical, and related sources.

There are many apps, websites, and programs available to help you manage your citations and research. This guide describes some of the most popular ones in the Citation and Research Management tab. Just remember that these programs and services are only as good as the data on which they rely. Students are responsible for checking the accuracy of citations against the style guide.