Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended to provide students digital access to important resources concerning the Reformation Era of Christianity which most scholars agree spans from 1517 – 1648. The resources will include reference works, monographs, databases, journals, and websites dedicated to the study of the Reformation.
Databases, Journals & Websites
The journal is interested in studies on topics including theology and biblical scholarship; church history or religious matters -- Protestant, Catholic or radical; English and Continental literature; social, political and intellectual history; early modern Catholic history; the History of the Book; Renaissance humanism; art history and architecture; and music. The journal is also interested in scholarship that identifies continuities and discontinuities with medieval religious and devotional traditions.
Archive for Reformation History
The Archive for Reformation History is an international journal which publishes articles relating to aspects of early modern European religious life and thought that touch on the Reformation and Catholic/Counter Reformation movements. The journal is also concerned with the extension of European theology and practice into the extra-European world. Its chronological range is approximately 1450-1650.
Journal of Reformed Theology
This is a refereed international journal of systematic, historical, and biblical theology. The JRT is an instrument for the study of living and contextual theology that provides a forum for debate on classical and contemporary theological issues and offers an update on new theological and biblical literature.
Reference Works & Monographs
Martin Luther's Basic Theological Writings by
"[an} introduction to Luther's most influential, noted, and important writings in the modern translations—including excerpts of his sermons and letters—presents Luther the theologian "steeped in the word of God, speaking to the whole church," even as it takes the reader straight to Luther the man, to his controversial Reformation insights, to his strongest convictions about God and Scripture and the life of the church, and most importantly to his theology—a still-exciting encounter with the meaning of Jesus Christ for each age." - Augsburg Fortress Publishers
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by
"This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. The text explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers. A table of European ruling houses and a table showing the dates when cities and countries changed from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar are also included.Gordon Campbell, with the help of his team of distinguished consultant and advisory editors, has created a unique new A-Z reference surveying all aspects of the Renaissance in Europe. From da Vinci to Dutch law, from gypsies to geometry, this volume contains an immense breadth of information with over 3,000 entries covering an extensive spectrum of topics." - Oxford Univeristy Press
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by
"[This] is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe." - Oxford University Press
Reformation and Counter-Reformation by
"The Protestant Reformation of the 16th century has traditionally been viewed as marking the onset of modernity in Europe. It finally broke up the federal Christendom of the middle ages, under the leadership of the papacy and substituted for it a continent of autonomous and national states, independent of Rome. The Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation provides a comprehensive account of two chains of events―the Protestant Reformation and the Catholic Counter-Reformation―that have left an enduring imprint on Europe, America, and the world at large. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on persons, places, countries, institutions, doctrines, ideas, and events." - Scarecrow Press
Reformation and Early Modern Europe: A Guide to Research by
"Continuing the tradition of historiographic studies, this volume provides an update on research in Reformation and early modern Europe. Written by expert scholars in the field, these eighteen essays explore the fundamental points of Reformation and early modern history in religious studies, European regional studies, and social and cultural studies. Authors review the present state of research in the field, new trends, key issues scholars are working with, and fundamental works in their subject area, including the wide range of electronic resources now available to researchers." - Truman State University Press