Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended to provide resources and information on the period after the Patristic era (c. 100-600 CE) until the time period before the Reformation (~15th century CE). Though this time period is not completely agreed upon by scholars, for the purposes of this guide those will be the starting and ending points.
Databases, Journals & Websites
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Hosted by Fordham University, this site provides access to many key primary sources about key events and important people during this time period.
Journal of Early Medieval Europe
This journal provides an indispensable source of information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century. The journal is a thoroughly interdisciplinary forum, encouraging the discussion of archaeology, numismatics, palaeography, diplomatic, literature, onomastics, art history, linguistics and epigraphy, as well as more traditional historical approaches. It covers Europe in its entirety, including material on Iceland, Ireland, the British Isles, Scandinavia and Continental Europe (both west and east). Early Medieval Europe is unique in its chronological, methodological and geographical scope. Filling an important gap, it is indispensable reading for all students and scholars of the early medieval world.
The Journal of Ecclesiastical History
Since 1950 The Journal of Ecclesiastical History has published original research articles, scholarly reviews, review articles, notes and documents, relating to all aspects of the history of Christianity. The journal's scope extends to cultural, institutional, intellectual, political, social and any other relevant form of history; to all periods from ancient to modern; and to all regions of the world. Contributors address detailed research questions as well as engaging with the wider issues in the field.
Journal of Late Antiquity
This journal provides a venue for multi-disciplinary coverage of all the methodological, geographical, and chronological facets of Late Antiquity. All of Late Antiquity will be represented -- from the late and post-classical world up to the Carolingian period, and including the late Roman, western European, Byzantine, Sassanid, and Islamic worlds, ca. 250-800 CE. JLA is essential, not only as a space for scholarship dealing with practical and theoretical issues, but, in particular, to bridge the gap between literary and material culture scholarship. One of the primary goals of the journal is to highlight the status of Late Antiquity as a discrete historical period in its own right
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
This journal publishes articles informed by historical inquiry and alert to issues raised by contemporary theoretical debate. The journal fosters rigorous investigation of historiographical representations of European and western Asian cultural forms from late antiquity to the seventeenth century. Its topics include art, literature, theater, music, philosophy, theology, and history, and it embraces material objects as well as texts; women as well as men; merchants, workers, and audiences as well as patrons; Jews and Muslims as well as Christians.
The Journal of Medieval Religious Cultures
The journal chiefly publishes peer-reviewed essays on mystical and devotional texts, especially but not exclusively of the Western Middle Ages. In its new form it will seek to expand its areas of focus to include the relationship of medieval religious cultures outside Europe. The journal also publishes book reviews and disseminates information of interest to all those who by profession, vocation, or inclination are interested in mysticism and the Middle Ages.
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne’s thread through the maze of information on the Web.
Medieval Mystical Theology
welcomes the submission of scholarly papers embracing all factors contributing to the understanding of medieval mystical theology. This includes not only the study of individual writers, but also movements, themes, developments, and ideas within the context of mystical theology in the Middle Ages. The journal embraces the influence of Neo-Platonism, Aristotelianism, Patristics, Judaism and Islam on Christian medieval mystical theology, as well as interpretations of the tradition for today. Comparisons between medieval mystical theology and other traditions, such as Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism and Confucianism, are also within the compass of the journal.
The flagship journal of Oxford's Society for the Study of Medieval Languages and Literature, which serves to advance education by the encouragement and dissemination to the scholarly community and wider public of research on medieval languages and literature. It is one of the leading international academic periodicals in medieval studies
postmedieval: a journal of medieval cultural studies aims to develop a present-minded medieval studies in which contemporary events, issues, ideas, problems, objects, and texts serve as triggers for critical investigations of the Middle Ages. The journal also underscores the important value of medieval studies and the longest possible historical perspectives to the ongoing development of contemporary critical and cultural theories that remain under-historicized.
Revue d'Histoire Ecclésiastique
Despite the French title of this journal many of the articles are published in English. It covers the entire history of Christianity. All articles are based on original source research and often develop innovative aspects in the area of historical methodology. They are published in French, English, German, Italian, and Spanish. Besides its articles, the Revue offers the reader reviews of recent books dealing with Church history in the large sense, in the form of critical reviews or brief descriptions. These reviews try to cover the most important publications in this sector. Added to that is a chronicle which mentions conferences, distinctions, doctoral theses, necrologies, etc.
Studies in Medieval Theology and Philosophy
This journal provides a forum for original, high-quality research on all aspects of theology and philosophy from Augustine and the Early Middle Ages up to late scholasticism. Recent articles have included highly focused studies on particular facets of the medieval philosophical or theological tradition, broader reconsiderations of received views in the history of medieval theology and philosophy, and editions of texts and manuscript studies. Articles are supplemented on a regular basis by a «Report on Research», in which a particular set of issues of current discussion is presented in light of relevant publications, and a «Review of Literature», which gives a selective overview of the year's new publications. Languages of publication are English, French, and German.
This journal publishes monographic essays, critical editions of texts, and research tools such as catalogues of unpublished manuscripts. It publishes articles in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Articles have treated history, literature, philosophy, patristics, philology, theology, and history of art. The periods covered are antiquity, early Christianity, and the Middle Ages, up to A.D. 1500.
The Cambridge History of Christianity: Christianity in Western Europe c.1100–c.1500 by
"During the early middle ages, Europe developed complex and varied Christian cultures, and from about 1100 secular rulers, competing factions and inspired individuals continued to engender a diverse and ever-changing mix within Christian society. This volume explores the wide range of institutions, practices and experiences associated with the life of European Christians in the later middle ages. The clergy of this period initiated new approaches to the role of priests, bishops and popes, and developed an ambitious project to instruct the laity. For lay people, the practices of parish religion were central, but many sought additional ways to enrich their lives as Christians. Impulses towards reform and renewal periodically swept across Europe, led by charismatic preachers and supported by secular rulers. This book provides accessible accounts of these complex historical processes and entices the reader towards further enquiry." - Cambridge University Press
The Cambridge History of Christianity: Early Medieval Christianities, C. 600-C. 1100 by
"The key focus of this book is the vitality and dynamism of all aspects of Christian experience from late antiquity to the First Crusade. By putting the institutional and doctrinal history firmly in the context of Christianity's many cultural manifestations and lived formations everywhere from Afghanistan to Iceland, this volume of The Cambridge History of Christianity emphasizes the ever-changing, varied expressions of Christianity at both local and world level. The insights of many disciplines, including gender studies, codicology, archaeology and anthropology, are deployed to offer fresh interpretations which challenge the conventional truths concerning this formative period. Addressing eastern, Byzantine and western Christianity, it explores encounters between Christians and others, notably Jews, Muslims, and pagans; the institutional life of the church including law, reform and monasticism; the pastoral and sacramental contexts of worship, belief and morality; and finally its cultural and theological meanings, including heresy, saints' cults and the afterlife." -Cambridge University Press
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by
Visit every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500. Here you can explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.
When you search within this work, use the "search within results" box on the right side of the page"
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature by
"Often misleadingly called the Dark Ages, the period between the fall of Rome and the Renaissance was a time of great creativity. The Middle Ages gave rise to some of the world's most enduring and influential literary works, including Dante's Commedia, Chaucer's The Canterbury Tales, and a large body of Arthurian lore and legend. This reference is a comprehensive guide to literature written between 500 and 1500. While the volume is primarily devoted to the early literature of England, it also includes entries for historical persons and subjects of cultural relevance which would have been discussed in literary works or which might have affected their creation. Multicultural in scope, the book also covers Islamic, Hispanic, Celtic, Mongolian, Germanic, Italian, and Russian literature and culture of the Middle Ages. Longer entries provide thorough coverage of major English authors such as Chaucer and Malory, and of entire genres, such as drama, lyric, ballad, debate, saga, chronicle, and hagiography. Shorter entries examine particular literary works; significant kings, artists, explorers, and religious leaders; important themes, such as courtly love and chivalry; and major historical events, such as the Crusades. The entries are written by scholars and each entry concludes with a brief bibliography. The volume closes with a list of the most valuable general works for further reading." - Publisher
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by
"Far more than a dry hagiographical account of the lives of saints, this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. First published in 1978, the Oxford Dictionary of Saints offers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world, from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated. From all walks of life and from all periods of history and from around the world, the wide varieties of personalities and achievements of the canonized are reflected. An updated introduction explains the steps towards becoming a saint, the processes of beatification and canonization." - Oxford University Press
The Oxford Dictionary of the Popes by
"This fascinating dictionary gives concise accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office. Also, an appendix provides a detailed discussion and analysis of the tradition that there has been a female pope. This new edition reflects the very latest in papal research and contains additional information in the further reading sections of each entry, making the book an even more useful starting place for research into specific pontiffs. This is a continuous history of the papacy over almost 2,000 years. It reveals how, for much of that history, spiritual and temporal power have been inextricably mingled in the person of the pope. A fascinating read for students of theology and history, as well as the general reader with an interest in Christian history." - Oxford University Press