Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hebrew Bible, as the name implies, is primarily written in Hebrew Language (though there are a few sections written in Aramaic). The purpose of this short guide will be to provide students with the key resources
in the grueling process of the acquisition of the language and provide tools to better utilize this skill.
An excellent open access site that provides the full text of the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia with vowel points and cantillation marks. It also provides a parallel text with the KJV.
The Aleppo Codex
This site provides high quality scans of the Aleppo codex, the oldest extant manuscript of the entire Hebrew Bible and is dated to 930 CE. It no longer contains most of the Torah but the majority of the Hebrew Bible can be found in it.
The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
This website, developed in partnership with Google, gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
At the moment, there is no official website dedicated to the Leningrad Codex like there is for the Aleppo Codex. However, there is a semi-HQ version available through archive.org's OpenLibrary. This is the manuscript upon which BHS is based and also upon which the BHQ is based.
RESOURCES FOR BIBLICAL HEBREW GRAMMAR
This is a website maintained by J. Ted Blakley that has many grammar charts for Biblical Hebrew pulled from various introduction to Biblical Hebrew courses and books. These are available free to download in .pdf format.
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
This is one of the older dictionaries in this list and because of that has some peculiarities that other dictionaries do not have. The main difference between this and other dictionaries is that it is arranged based upon the triliteral root system, which can make it frustrating to find words if you are not familiar with this system, but can be very useful because it places all the words with a certain triliteral root together. Others have realized this difficulty and
Index to Brown, Driver & Briggs Hebrew Lexicon
can help newer students substantially. An online version can be found
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament
This is a 4 volume work making it a little less convenient than the one volume BDB. However it is more up-to-date in terms of scholarship and lexicography and organizes words alphabetically rather than by triliteral roots making it much easier for the beginning student to navigate.
The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew (DCH)
The DCH is an enormous 8 volume work that includes words not only in the Hebrew Bible, but also the Dead Sea Scrolls, Ben Sira, and Hebrew inscriptions. Among its special features are: a list of the non-biblical texts cited (especially the Dead Sea Scrolls), a word frequency index for each letter of the alphabet, a substantial bibliography (from Volume 2 onward) and an English–Hebrew index in each volume.
Gesenius' Hebrew Grammar
This is often considered the "standard" Biblical Hebrew grammar book. Though it has been updated various times it is often considered out-dated, and other grammars have arisen to take its place. However this should not be excluded from a student's reference library. An online version can be found
A Grammar of Biblical Hebrew
This is, at this point in time, the most up-to-date reference grammar of Biblical Hebrew. Original published in French in 1921, Dr. Muraoka has translated it into English, updated, and expanded it to include an extensive bibliography.
An Introduction to Biblical Hebrew Syntax
This is one of the best grammar's available in English because not only does it thoroughly explain difficult concepts but provides many examples from the Hebrew text as well as giving English translations. As the title suggests, morphology is excluded from this work but it does give thorough explanations of the various verbal forms.
The Hebrew of the Dead Sea Scrolls
Sadly, very little has been published on the Hebrew of the Dead Sea Scrolls. This book, published over 30 years ago is still one of the few works that focuses exclusively on DSS Hebrew and its peculiarities.