Skip to main content



Research & Annotated Bibliographies: Home

Overview: Research vs. Annotated Bibliographies

A Research Bibliography is basically a bibliography with research notes embedded. They aim to help researchers organize their research and take effective notes while reading. Research bibliographies should include specific page numbers, extract the most relevant quotations, paraphrase important points, and summarize content. Particularly when constructed as a searchable document, Research Bibliographies are highly useful to facilitate the writing process. In other words, a good academic writer should have two documents open during the writing process: the Research Bibliography and the draft.

An Annotated Bibliography is a bibliography in which each entry is followed by a one or two paragraph critical evaluation. Annotated Bibliographies help researchers do the important work of critical analysis, which is a necessary precursor to the critical and original synthesis involved in a lit review and outline. The kinds of criteria typically addressed in each annotation are the same as found in the CRAAP test.

Theoretically, one could combine both of these genres into a single document: a combined Research and Annotated Bibliography.

Sample Research & Annotated Bibliographies

Guide Authorship and Copyright Permissions

Creative Commons License
Research & Annotated Biblographies LibGuide by Mark Bilby is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.