Skip to main content



Finding Book Reviews: Home

A guide to finding book reviews in Religious Studies

How to Find Book Reviews

Where and how should I search for book reviews?

First try the Catalog / Discovery Service. Unfortunately, the catalog cannot find ALL book reviews, but it often can locate a few. Search tip: when searching the catalog, type the last name of the book author, a couple notable nouns and/or adjectives from the book title, and (in quotation marks) "book review". This will help limit the search results to book reviews. The Catalog unfortunately does NOT allow you to select a checkbox on the left side of your search results page to limit the results to book reviews.

If you want to find additional book reviews, try searching specific databases such as those listed below. Try to choose the database(s) you think would be most relevant to the subject area of your book (e.g., New Testament Abstracts for books related to New Testament Studies). Some of them (e.g., ATLA) allow you to select a checkbox for book reviews on the left side of your search results page to limit the results to book reviews.

Which databases have book reviews?

ATLA, Christian Periodical Index, Index to Jewish Periodicals, Index Theologicus, JSTOR, New Testament Abstracts, Old Testament Abstracts, OmniFile Full Text Select, Philosopher's Index, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Research Library, PsycArticles, PsycCritiques, and Social Sciences Full Text. See our complete A-Z database list of subscriptions for these and more options.

There is no full text link to a book review. Now what do I do?

While many book reviews are available in full text online, some are not. If you find a book review listed but cannot find a full text link, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the book review through our Catalog / Discovery Service. To do this, follow the instructions in the Interlibrary Loan FAQ. Usually it takes 2-3 business days to get book reviews scanned and sent from other libraries.

Guide Authorship and Copyright Permission